Skip to content

How do you find the time?

April 18, 2008
tags:

Every morning I start my day fairly early, but always feeling like I’m already running late. My morning commute is a short one – about 8 miles which take me about 15 or so minutes. I use that time to start laying out my day, thinking about how long each task will take and the handful of things I absolutely just can not fail to accomplish. One of those things I always swear that I am going to do is to better maintain this blog ~ I have the best ideas I want to share early in the morning while my head is still organized.

When I arrive at the office I have nearly a whole hour before the doors open, and my office to myself. I start the pot of coffee, and check out whatever fun presents have been left for us by the classes who have used the building the night before.

Then the phone rings. The other residents in the building stick their heads in to say hello. I end up with a half dozen half written emails on my desktop. I’m not sure exactly how it happens, but pretty soon I come up for air and make note of it being somewhere around 11AM, or Noon, or maybe even later. If I’m lucky, I might have a cup of Ramen Noodles for lunch, or maybe a baggie left over from whatever I had the night before. But most of the time I just work right through it.

I don’t know if Twitter has been good for me or not – I’ve certainly learned a lot. But Twitter has managed to fill those little 2-3 minute gaps that I used to have in my life when my computer was busy printing, or processing a report, or uploading photos – now I’m glued to my computer trying to catch up on what is happening in my extended world.

My plans to get out of the office a little early has passed. It’s somewhere after 4:30 and there is no way I’m going to get my hair cut or the oil changed again tonight. I probably haven’t gotten through all of the messages from the various technology lists sitting in folders waiting for me to click on them. I am probably running to take my son to dance, football, REP or Scouts – depending on what day of the week it is.

And now, at 10PM at night, I can not remember for the life of me what my great and uncontainable ideas from 14-16 hours ago were any more. My plans to change the world have given way to the late evening news, and wondering how many times tonight I will get up with the dog, the kids – or the occasional freak earthquake that seems to be rumbling through the Midwest these days.

I’m already contemplating my day tomorrow. I’m reading blogs, thinking of great ideas to work on with the kids, and meditating on helping my tired muscles and aching body try to relax. But I have to ask myself –

How do you find the time?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

